top of page

Compass to Vinland
Book One of the Magic Shoes Series

Compass to Vinland Cover.jpg

Wren Larkin knows he isn’t the most popular kid in town ­– he’s too tall, too thin and lives in a house shaped like an old boot. His only friends are a murder of crows who bring him shiny trinkets in exchange for bird seed. Then Maria appears...

In just a matter of days, Wren is immersed into a whole new reality that’ll take him on an incredible journey and reveal a lineage that might be better left secret.  More


An engrossing fantasy laced with inventive sparkle and dark undercurrents.

Kirkus Review

 Compass to Vinland has it all: magic, adventure, villains, and heroes. I highly recommend this book!

Reviewed by Kristine Zimmerman for Readers' Favorite

The story was so engrossing that I truly felt transported to this legendary world, and the final chapter left me hungry for more.

Review by Dakota Love for Reedsy Discovery

Read Full Reviews Here

Book TWO of the Magic Shoes Series
released July of 2023


Wren Framed.jpeg

Wren Larkin  lives in a house that looks like shoe, has an unbelievable green thumb, and has no idea what to do with the magic shoes he found hidden under his house. But when others learn about the shoes and that they have the power to lead Wren to a cloaked world called Vinland, he has no choice but to go on the run with his new found friends. As the story progresses, it becomes clear that Wren and his shoes are pivotal to the fate of a mythical land and a long-standing family legacy.

Artwork by Kat Sutherland @katspaintss
Maria Framed.jpeg

Maria Tovar  is the newest student at Lewisberry Middle School, granddaughter of the town's number one baker, and most likely to know everything you're thinking about. Since, ya know, she can read minds.
Especially now that she has put on the magic shoes that Wren's grandfather made for her which have amplified her abilities. While we meet her in Compass to Vinland, get ready to delve into the truth behind her past, present, and future in the second installment in the Magic Shoes Series.

Artwork by Kat Sutherland @katspaintss
Rusty Framed.jpeg

Rusty Whitaker is known as bad news in the small town he lives in, but he gets the chance to change his narrative when he finds a pair of magic shoes that give him insane fighting skills. Even though everyone in the magic world is confused that Wren's grandfather made him a pair of shoes, considering he's just an ordinary guy, Rusty is convinced his shoes were made for a reason and he intends to prove his worth with them on his feet. 

Artwork by Kat Sutherland @katspaintss

Bringing the story to life...

wren hair paint.jpeg
image0 (26).jpeg
Insta shoes.png
image1 (15).jpeg

My Story

Dani Resh Photo.png

Being born on Friday the Thirteenth, I have always been drawn to the more mysterious elements of life. The pull of the unknown has inspired both my visual and literary work. I enjoy collecting strange things from stranger places and will never grow tired of the gothic music of my youth.

I live in Michigan with my husband, daughter and son in a house hidden by an army of pine trees.

Compass to Vinland: Book One of the Magic Shoe Series, is my first novel.

Clarity of Sight: Book Two of the Magic Shoe Series, will be released July of 2023.

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Thanks for reaching out!

bottom of page